Classic Albums: Moving Pictures/2112

Before 2112
Passage To Bangkok
The Twilight Zone
Move To Moving Pictures
Red Barchetta
Tom Sawyer

2112 Overture
Something For Nothing
This is Not A Drum Solo (Neil Warms Up)
Geddy On Neil & Alex
Neil On Geddy & Alex
Red Barchetta
Neil Waxes Lyrical
Tom Sawyer
Alex On Geddy & Neil
Why YYZ?

The two albums by Rush covered in this film illustrate the changing nature of the band through the 70s and into the 80s.

"2112", released in 1976, was Rush's breakthrough. The title track, which filled the whole of side one on the original LP release, was a defiant expression of the music the band wanted to make despite pressure from their record company to move them in a more "commercial" direction. It was a gamble that paid off with Platinum sales and which laid the foundations for the sequence of albums that followed with thoughtful lyrics covering many themes and multi-layered virtuoso music that few other bands could even dream of producing.

"Moving Pictures", released in 1981, saw Rush channel their intellectual complexity and well-honed musical skills into a series of shorter, more easily-accessible tracks. The result was the biggest selling album of their career and a set of songs including "Tom Sawyer", "Red Barchetta", "Limelight" and the instrumental "YYZ" that became radio staples and remain fan favorites to this day.

This Classic Albums program contains exclusive interviews with band members Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart along with exclusive performances, archive footage and an in-depth examination of the original multi-track tapes with the band and producer Terry Brown.

Contains over 54 minutes of additional interviews and exclusive footage not included in the broadcast version

Packaging design: Stuart Green
Executive Producers for Eagle Rock Entertainment Ltd: Terry Shand and Geoff Kempin
Executive Producer for Isis Productions Ltd: Jamie Rugge-Price
Series Producers: Nick de Grunwald & Martin R. Smith
Directed and Edited by Martin R. Smith
An Isis Production in co-product ion with Eagle Rock Entertainment in association with NRK.
© 2010 Eagle Rock Entertainment Ltd. / Isis Productions Ltd.

Running time: 112 mins approx. (main feature 58:08; Special Features 54:22)