Rush's 'Vapor Trails' Due In May

By Jonathan Cohen,, March 14, 2002

Canadian power trio Rush has set a May 14 release date for its upcoming Anthem/Atlantic album, "Vapor Trails." As previously reported, the set was recorded in Toronto, with band members Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, and Neil Peart serving as producers and longtime collaborator Paul Northfield engineering. A North American tour in support of "Vapor Trails" is expected to begin in late June.

The new album, the follow-up to 1996's "Test for Echo," features 13 tracks. Opener and first single "One Little Victory" is described by the label as "propulsive," while "Sweet Miracle" is said to be "emotive," and "How It Is" has been deemed "kinetic." "One Little Victory" is due to hit U.S. rock radio outlets on March 29.

"Test for Echo" was a No. 5 hit on The Billboard 200, with its title track vaulting to No. 1 on Billboard's Mainstream Rock Tracks chart and "Half the World" reaching No. 6 on the same tally. "Different Stages," a three-CD live album spanning shows from 1978, 1994, and 1997, bowed at No. 35 on The Billboard 200 in November 1998. Lee released his Atlantic solo debut, "My Favorite Headache," in December 2000.