Rush, Three Days Grace And Others Form Canadian Supergroup For Trailer Park Boys Movie, September 11, 2006

The Trailer Park Boys television series has built a large following across Canada, and some of the Showcase program's most dedicated fans are musicians. So it only makes sense that some of the biggest names in Canadian rock will appear on the soundtrack for the upcoming Alliance Atlantis film, Trailer Park Boys - The Movie.

Trailer Park Boys - The Soundtrack will be released by Anthem Records on October 3. The first single/video, a cover of the Bobby Fuller Four's "I Fought The Law" performed by The Big Dirty Band, will first air on September 18.

The Big Dirty Band are comprised of Rush's Geddy Lee (bass) and Alex Lifeson (guitar), Thornley's Ian Thornley (vocals and guitar), Three Days Grace's Adam Gontier (vocals), Die Mannequin's Care Failure (vocals) and former Tea Party drummer Jeff Burrows. The video for the song - featuring the TPB characters of Ricky (Robb Wells), Bubbles (Mike Smith) and Julian (John Paul Tremblay) on the streets of Toronto - was directed by Juno Award winner Andrew McNaughton.

The soundtrack also features a performance of "Liquor & Whores" by Bubbles & The Shit Rockers, who include Lifeson and Blackie & The Rodeo Kings member and solo artist Tom Wilson.

Alexisonfire cover Black Sabbath's "Sweet Leaf," TPB character J-Roc (Jonathan Torrens) performs "Trailer Park Life," and the all-Canadian album also features songs from Rush, Rough Trade, April Wine, The Tragically Hip, Wintersleep and Swollen Members. Commentaries from Ricky, Bubbles and Julian are interspersed between tracks.

Former Headstones frontman Hugh Dillon appears in the movie as a new character called Sonny. The film, written and directed by Mike Clattenburg, is expected in theatres next month. You can read more about Trailer Park Boys - The Movie in the upcoming October issue of Chart.

Here are the tracks on Trailer Park Boys - The Soundtrack:

  • Big Dirty Drums
  • The Big Dirty Band - "I Fought The Law"
  • Rush - "The Spirit Of Radio"
  • J-Roc - "Trailer Park Life"
  • Credulence
  • Alexisonfire - "Sweet Leaf"
  • Rough Trade - "All Touch"
  • Shithawks
  • April Wine - "I'm On Fire For You Baby"
  • The Tragically Hip - "Bobcaygeon"
  • Wintersleep - "Orca"
  • Swollen Members - "Swamp Water"
  • Ricky's Day In Court
  • Bubbles & The Shit Rockers - "Liquor & Whores"