Track 13
Northern Lights

David Foster - keyboards
Paul Dean -guitar
Jim Vallance - drums
David Sinclair - guitar
Steven Denroche - french horn
Doug Johnson - keyboards
Northern Lights (including Geddy Lee) - vocals
A bunch of Canadian superstars got together in the studio to contribute a vocal chorus track to the "We Are The World" album for African famine relief. They called the assembleage "Northern Lights". They consisted of:
  • Bryan Adams
  • Carroll Baker
  • Veronique Beliveau
  • Salome Bey
  • Liona Boyd
  • John Candy
  • Robert Charlebois
  • Tom Cochrane
  • Bruce Cockburn
  • Burton Cummings
  • Dalbello
  • Gorden Deppe
  • Claude Dubois
  • Robin Duke
  • Don Gerrard
  • Brian Good
  • Corey Hart
  • Ronnie Hawkins
  • Dan Hill
  • Mark Holmes
  • Tommy Hunter
  • Paul Hyde
  • Martha Johnson
  • Marc Jordan
  • Eugene Levy
  • Gordon Lightfoot
  • Baron Longfellow
  • Richard Manuel
  • Murray McLauchlan
  • Frank Mills
  • Geddy Lee
  • Kim Mitchell
  • Joni Mitchell
  • Anne Murray
  • Bruce Murray
  • Aldo Nova
  • Catherine O'Hara
  • OscarPeterson
  • Colina Phillips
  • Carole Pope
  • Mike Reno
  • Lorraine Segato
  • Paul Shaffer
  • Graham Shaw
  • Leroy Sibbles
  • Jane Siberry
  • Liberty Silver
  • Wayne St. John
  • Ian Thomas
  • Sylvia Tyson
  • Sharon Lee Williams
  • Neil Young
  • Zappacosta
  • Steve Says

    I'm usually not too whoopee about this kind of thing. A bunch of stars think they can solve a catastrophic, 2000 year old problem by throwing some money at it. Usually the quality of songs that result from a gathering of solo artists forced into a choir are musically insignificant. It always breaks the meter on the touchy-feely gauge. And did anyone notice that it's "We Are The World" but it's "USA For Africa"? Does that make USA the world? And is that a slap in the face at Canada? I know, I'm taking this way too seriously. I should really lighten up.


    In addition to the Northern Lights track inclusion on the "We Are The World" album, a single was released and a "making of" special aired on the CBC, entitled "Tears Are Not Enough".

    Although Dan Akroyd is Canadian, he does not show up on the Northern Lights track. He sings on the USA track "We Are The World" for some reason.

    Bryan Adams (who wrote the lyrics as well as sang on the track) also appeared on the "Smoke On The Water '90" track for the Rock Aid Armenia Earthquake Album that Alex contributed to.

    Liona Boyd contributed to "Beyond Borders" alongside Alex. She also gives him a special thanks credit on her album "Dancing On The Edge".

    John Candy, Eugene Levy, and Catherine O'Hara were all part of SCTV. Geddy sang on SCTV's Bob & Doug McKenzie - "Great White North" album (see track 3). SCTV's Joe Flaherty appeared as Count Floyd for the filmed introduction for "The Weapon" that was used on theSIGNALS tour. The SCTV comedy troop released an album on Rush's Anthem label, Wankers' Guide To Canada.

    Tom Cochrane seems to be good friends with Alex. On Cochrane's "Ragged Ass Road" Alex makes several appearances. They jammed together at the Kumbaya Festival 93 and Kumbaya 94.

    Dalbello sang "Start Today" on Alex's Victor album.

    Mark Holmes is the vocalist for Platinum Blonde. In addition to his vocal contribution, scenes from the "Doesn't Really Matter" Platinum Blonde music video can be seen on the "making of" special, "Tears Are Not Enough". Alex contributed guitar solos on two tracks for their album "Alien Shores" (see track 4 and track 6).

    Kim Mitchell was the lead singer and guitarist for the group Max Webster. They were signed with Rush's Anthem label. They used to open for Rush regularly on the Canadian legs of their tours. Max Webster's lyricist Pye Dubois has collaberated with Neil several times on song lyrics. Rush played with them on the song "Battlescar" (see track 9).

    Aldo Nova played keyboards on Brian Greenway's solo album "Serious Business". Alex contributed a solo on a song (see track 11).

    Ian Thomas is signed with Rush's Anthem label. His keyboard player used to be Rush's cover artist Hugh Syme. Currently, he also plays with The Boomers. Alex jammed with the Boomers at the 95 Kumbaya Festival. Ian Thomas is also the brother of SCTV's Dave Thomas.

    Where To Find It

    USA For Africa - We Are The World at CD Now.

    Tears Are Not Enough at Freedom Of Music, the largest collection of Rush rarities in MP3 format.

    Previous Track|Home|Next Track